Prior to 1910 , children living near White or Duck Lakes would have attended the Lyman School (District No. 6); so named because it stood on the farm of C. Lyman on the south side of Wardlow Road, half-way between Waterbury and Duck Lake Roads. The first frame school was built here circa 1840, but was soon replaced by a second frame school in 1858. By 1910, however, the number of children attending the Lyman School was so small that the building was closed and the remaining students divided between the Clyde (District No. 3) and Grubb (Fractional District No. 4, northwest corner of Duck Lake and East Livingston Roads) schools.
By the 1930's, however, the number of children living in the area had again grown sufficiently to warrant a new, closer school. Thus, on September 1, 1938, the voters approved funds for a new building on the southeast corner of Duck Lake Road and Jackson Boulevard - the last rural school constructed in Highland Township. Since the site was donated by John F. and Harry S. Beaumont, the building was commonly known as the Beaumont School. William Dennis was the first teacher. It remained in use until 1946, when classes were consolidated at the Highland Township School in Highland Station. The building was thereafter sold and saw use by church groups, day care centers and fraternal organizations. It still stands as of 2009.